Joy

Joy is a curious thing. Cannot be manufactured, bought or borrowed. Does not come from the number of friends one has on Face book, Instagram or Twitter.

Joy is not influenced by external circumstances like wealth, large houses or luxury cars.

Joy is said to appear 300 times in the Bible. One such place is found in the book of James where we are encouraged to “count it all joy when you meet trials of various kinds,…(James 1:2 ESV).

When things go wrong is not normally the time I feel particularly joyful.

But can I choose joy? Can I choose to focus on something, rather Someone bigger than my current circumstances? Yes, I can…

Or I can choose to feel sorry for myself, check out emotionally, get stinking mad none of which solves anything.

Rather, if I choose joy, realizing that this test of my faith will produce the glorious fruit of steadfastness (reliability, loyalty, dependability, trustworthy).  Much better than lemon face. Kind of like the way exercise makes me stronger even when it is hard.

Instead of lemon face, I get to walk around with smily face.

So then it’s a no brainier, I choose joy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

